Hobbit@Law

Looking carefully at that which is unseen.

Thinking about: The little monsters

There’s a wonderful post over at the HuffPo that asks the question about just WTF is wrong with parent/child relationships these days.

The writer, who sounds a lot like my mom used to, has essentially rediscovered the “permissive parenting” that rears its head again and again through the years. The idea that somehow children should be reasoned with, not disciplined, and that treating them as “my best friend” is somehow a way to raise mature and responsible adults.

Part of the problem lies in the fact that it can absolutely suck to discipline your child for doing something stupid or dangerous, particularly if it was the same sort of stupid or dangerous thing that YOU lived through when younger. Some parents simply rationalize – “Well, the marijuana now is stronger, so I don’t want my kids doing what I thought was fine” – their discipline, some choose not to – “I hated it, so I don’t want my child to hate it” – discipline, and some just recognize that bringing up children who are respectful of others’ rights is just part of the job they took on when parenting.

Or raise children who are NOT respectful of others’ rights, and watch our crime and tax rates soar as the “I can do what I want, at no cost to me!” generation ages.

Leave a Reply

