Hobbit@Law

Looking carefully at that which is unseen.

Thinking about: Good Conversation

John Adams reportedly said that a good argument is the best kind of conversation, or something like that. Or somebody said it. If nobody else, I said it, and hereby adopt the sentiment for my very own.

Wanna argue about it?

Anyway, I found myself in a rare moment of light disagreement with HobbitFave Jim Bovard in regard to his recent posting on taxation. The disagreement is more in the nature of ways and means, maybe some semantics, than anything truly substantive. I’d characterize it as something along the lines of Blind Jim feeling up Tantor’s trunk and stating that an elephant is long and snake-like, with me a step back saying, “Jim, it’s a monstrous huge beastie, almost the size of a politician’s ego and rounder than I am.” He’s not wrong, per se – part of the elephant IS kind of snakelike. I’m just not sure he’s getting the whole picture.

But he knows where my blog is, he’s free to come over and have an argument on the issue, ‘because argument or not, serious or not, ANY conversation with Jim is a delight.

Heh. Heh. Heh.

One response to “Thinking about: Good Conversation

  1. Jim Bovard January 9, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    Can I argue with the notion that “ANY conversation with Jim is a delight”? I don’t think we disagree on the IRS or taxation much at all —

Leave a comment